What's happening in and around Phoenixville, PA.

Friday, November 12, 2010

Wolfgang Books Presents 'An Afternoon with Mark SaFranko'

As part of its Writers at Bridge and Main Reading Series, Wolfgang Books will be presenting 'An Afternoon with Mark SaFranko' on Saturday, November 13th.

An Afternoon with Mark SaFranko
Author of Hating Olivia
Saturday, November 13th @ 3 pm
Presented By Wolfgang Books & Hosted By Steel City Coffeehouse

Well known in England and France, the U.S. publication of Hating Olivia should raise Mark SaFranko's profile considerably. In the tradition of Bukowski, Henry Miller and Fante, SaFranko has written a powerhouse of a novel bursting with obsession, pain and darkness. Up to this point, SaFranko has been considered an underground writer in his homeland, but that's about to change. Here's a little about the book:

Max Zajack's life is cheap rooms, dead-end jobs, and suicidal fantasies until he meets the alluring and mysterious Olivia Aphrodite, and everything goes to hell. hating olivia

Max is a struggling musician and wannabe writer. His life is in a rut until one night, while playing a gig at a local club, he gazes out into the crowd and sees Olivia. Before long, they are sharing a bed and host of dark vices that begin to consume them. Their love turns toxic, sending them spiraling downward toward the inevitable. Violently romantic, viscerally honest, Hating Olivia is the story of two loners whose obsessive love brings them to the edge of destruction.

No comments: