Skip to main content

Wolfgang Books Presents 'An Afternoon with Mark SaFranko'

As part of its Writers at Bridge and Main Reading Series, Wolfgang Books will be presenting 'An Afternoon with Mark SaFranko' on Saturday, November 13th.
An Afternoon with Mark SaFranko
Author of Hating Olivia
Saturday, November 13th @ 3 pm
Presented By Wolfgang Books & Hosted By Steel City Coffeehouse

Well known in England and France, the U.S. publication of Hating Olivia should raise Mark SaFranko's profile considerably. In the tradition of Bukowski, Henry Miller and Fante, SaFranko has written a powerhouse of a novel bursting with obsession, pain and darkness. Up to this point, SaFranko has been considered an underground writer in his homeland, but that's about to change. Here's a little about the book:

Max Zajack's life is cheap rooms, dead-end jobs, and suicidal fantasies until he meets the alluring and mysterious Olivia Aphrodite, and everything goes to hell. hating olivia

Max is a struggling musician and wannabe writer. His life is in a rut until one night, while playing a gig at a local club, he gazes out into the crowd and sees Olivia. Before long, they are sharing a bed and host of dark vices that begin to consume them. Their love turns toxic, sending them spiraling downward toward the inevitable. Violently romantic, viscerally honest, Hating Olivia is the story of two loners whose obsessive love brings them to the edge of destruction.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Public meeting to discuss future of Melchiorre Park scheduled for Nov. 29th

On Thursday, November 29th, the Borough is holding a 'brainstorming session' in which plans for Melchiorre Park will be discussed with its park planning consultants. The event will be held at the High School and will begin 7pm. For those of you who do not know about Melchiorre Park (of which I am included, even though I apparently live across the street from it), it is a 23 acre park located south of High Street on the land between it and French Creek. It appears, based on the drawing on the Borough home page , to be the land that is next to Westridge Village and across the street from the new Northridge Village community. As part of the meeting, the consultants will 'provide a brief background of the project and present a pre-final master plan for the park'. Source: Phoenixville Borough Website

Local Baker Wins on Netflix Sugar Rush

Peri Anderson, owner of Brooklyn Girl Bakery , was part of a team that won the most recent episode of Sugar Rush on Netflix. I reached out to Peri to learn a little more about her bakery: I started out taking a recreational cake decorating class with my mom when I was still living in NY. I loved it and moved to PA to be with my boyfriend (now husband), where I began interning for a bakery in Chestnut Hill. Over the course of 7 years I worked my way up from intern to pastry chef until I decided to leave in 2012. I do all of my baking in our home kitchen which is licensed and insured by the Dept. of Agriculture. Initially, I wanted to focus on wedding cakes so I immediately started contacting wedding venues in the area to see if they would include me a wedding cake vendor in their packages. I currently work with over 10 venues and several caterers in the area. While wedding cakes are my main focus, I also make cakes and cookie favors for all occasions. While I don’t have a retail loca