Skip to main content

Wolfgang Books Presents 'An Afternoon with Mark SaFranko'

As part of its Writers at Bridge and Main Reading Series, Wolfgang Books will be presenting 'An Afternoon with Mark SaFranko' on Saturday, November 13th.
An Afternoon with Mark SaFranko
Author of Hating Olivia
Saturday, November 13th @ 3 pm
Presented By Wolfgang Books & Hosted By Steel City Coffeehouse

Well known in England and France, the U.S. publication of Hating Olivia should raise Mark SaFranko's profile considerably. In the tradition of Bukowski, Henry Miller and Fante, SaFranko has written a powerhouse of a novel bursting with obsession, pain and darkness. Up to this point, SaFranko has been considered an underground writer in his homeland, but that's about to change. Here's a little about the book:

Max Zajack's life is cheap rooms, dead-end jobs, and suicidal fantasies until he meets the alluring and mysterious Olivia Aphrodite, and everything goes to hell. hating olivia

Max is a struggling musician and wannabe writer. His life is in a rut until one night, while playing a gig at a local club, he gazes out into the crowd and sees Olivia. Before long, they are sharing a bed and host of dark vices that begin to consume them. Their love turns toxic, sending them spiraling downward toward the inevitable. Violently romantic, viscerally honest, Hating Olivia is the story of two loners whose obsessive love brings them to the edge of destruction.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Public meeting to discuss future of Melchiorre Park scheduled for Nov. 29th

On Thursday, November 29th, the Borough is holding a 'brainstorming session' in which plans for Melchiorre Park will be discussed with its park planning consultants. The event will be held at the High School and will begin 7pm. For those of you who do not know about Melchiorre Park (of which I am included, even though I apparently live across the street from it), it is a 23 acre park located south of High Street on the land between it and French Creek. It appears, based on the drawing on the Borough home page , to be the land that is next to Westridge Village and across the street from the new Northridge Village community. As part of the meeting, the consultants will 'provide a brief background of the project and present a pre-final master plan for the park'. Source: Phoenixville Borough Website

Relay for Life Kick Off Celebration Planned for Nov. 27th

On Tuesday, November 27th, the Relay For Life of Phoenixville will be holding a kick off celebration for the '08 event. The celebration will be held at the Phoenixville High School Cafeteria (1200 Gay St) and will begin at 6:30pm. This year's celebration will feature the following: Meet this year's Co-Chairs and see the passing of the torch Hear from this year's Honorary Survivor Luminaria Ceremony: Celebrate the lives of those who have fought bravely, but have lost their battle Musical selections by The High School's Select Choir & the Guitar Club Spanish Immersion students will read poetry in both Spanish & English Raffle Fighting March & Line Dance by the High School Marching Band Also, for those who are interested in being a part of the '08 Relay, banking & team registration tables will be open from 6:00 to 6:30 p.m., and again after the ceremony. This year's relay will be held on May 2 & 3, 2008 from 6:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.