Skip to main content

Wolfgang Books Presents 'An Afternoon with Mark SaFranko'

As part of its Writers at Bridge and Main Reading Series, Wolfgang Books will be presenting 'An Afternoon with Mark SaFranko' on Saturday, November 13th.
An Afternoon with Mark SaFranko
Author of Hating Olivia
Saturday, November 13th @ 3 pm
Presented By Wolfgang Books & Hosted By Steel City Coffeehouse

Well known in England and France, the U.S. publication of Hating Olivia should raise Mark SaFranko's profile considerably. In the tradition of Bukowski, Henry Miller and Fante, SaFranko has written a powerhouse of a novel bursting with obsession, pain and darkness. Up to this point, SaFranko has been considered an underground writer in his homeland, but that's about to change. Here's a little about the book:

Max Zajack's life is cheap rooms, dead-end jobs, and suicidal fantasies until he meets the alluring and mysterious Olivia Aphrodite, and everything goes to hell. hating olivia

Max is a struggling musician and wannabe writer. His life is in a rut until one night, while playing a gig at a local club, he gazes out into the crowd and sees Olivia. Before long, they are sharing a bed and host of dark vices that begin to consume them. Their love turns toxic, sending them spiraling downward toward the inevitable. Violently romantic, viscerally honest, Hating Olivia is the story of two loners whose obsessive love brings them to the edge of destruction.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

An Evening of Hope

Come out this Saturday evening to An Evening of Hope, a benefit to raise funds for Manor of Hope. Manor of Hope, a long-term therapeutic community for young men battling the disease of addiction in our surrounding communities, sets itself apart from traditional drug rehabilitation programs because its long-term curriculum provides individuals with the opportunity to re-wire their minds, rejuvenate their bodies and refresh their spirits. The event, which will be held from 6-10pm at Franklin Commons, will feature appetizers and dinner followed by a silent auction, music and dancing. Complimentary beer and wine served throughout the evening and attire for the event is Smart Casual.

For more information or for tickets, visit friendsofthemanor.org/an-evening-of-hope.

Chester County Studio Tour Coming to Phoenixville Next Month

Art collectors, enthusiasts and novices will have two full days in May to meet some of the best artists in their Phoenixville studios. Studio 3 is part of the Chester County Studio Tour which will be held on May 19th and 20th . Studio 3 consist of sculptor Tom Ransom, painter Michael Hill, painter Lee Pohlsander, a jeweler Maryann Worrell. Studio 3 is located at 84 Washington Ave Phoenixville PA. The Chester County Studio Tour is free and open to the public on Saturday May 19, from 10:00am until 6:00pm and Sunday, May 20, from 11:00am until 5:00pm.

Some other great studios on the Tour are Teresa Haag at Studio 2. The famous Phoenixville artist will be hosting painter Lisa Muller and encaustic painter Sandra Engle. Teresa’s studio is located at 26 Gay Street. Studio 7 is hosted by painter Gretchen McGinnis. Participants of Studio 7 include painter Lisa Ford, Painter Maryanne Buschini, painter Daphne Longo-Okcuoglu, and ceramist Bonnie Ann Burnett. Studio 7 is located at 115 Bobtail Dr …

Local Business Spotlight: Chaplin's

Chaplin's is a music and private party venue, cafe, and recording studio located at 66. N Main St. Spring City PA. At Chaplin's, the elegant stage and the high-tech studio are just within arms reach of each other: a dream come true for performing musicians!

Our primary mission here in Spring City, PA is to encourage local musicians to perform and record their original work in a true listening room. We support all genres of music and performing arts.
We have also become a favorite spot to host private events such as: baby showers, birthday parties, rehearsals, meetings, and more.

Local artists and photographers are encouraged to display their work in our beautiful room.

Open Mic Night is held every Sunday hosted by Ted The Fiddler : Come out and plug into the best house sound around. House kit and bass rig available... Bands are welcome! Doors & Sign-ups @ 7:00: $4 admission ($3 for performers), $2 for BYOB.

For more information, give them a call at 610-792-4110 or visit t…