Skip to main content

Wolfgang Books Presents 'An Afternoon with Mark SaFranko'

As part of its Writers at Bridge and Main Reading Series, Wolfgang Books will be presenting 'An Afternoon with Mark SaFranko' on Saturday, November 13th.
An Afternoon with Mark SaFranko
Author of Hating Olivia
Saturday, November 13th @ 3 pm
Presented By Wolfgang Books & Hosted By Steel City Coffeehouse

Well known in England and France, the U.S. publication of Hating Olivia should raise Mark SaFranko's profile considerably. In the tradition of Bukowski, Henry Miller and Fante, SaFranko has written a powerhouse of a novel bursting with obsession, pain and darkness. Up to this point, SaFranko has been considered an underground writer in his homeland, but that's about to change. Here's a little about the book:

Max Zajack's life is cheap rooms, dead-end jobs, and suicidal fantasies until he meets the alluring and mysterious Olivia Aphrodite, and everything goes to hell. hating olivia

Max is a struggling musician and wannabe writer. His life is in a rut until one night, while playing a gig at a local club, he gazes out into the crowd and sees Olivia. Before long, they are sharing a bed and host of dark vices that begin to consume them. Their love turns toxic, sending them spiraling downward toward the inevitable. Violently romantic, viscerally honest, Hating Olivia is the story of two loners whose obsessive love brings them to the edge of destruction.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Chester County Studio Tour Coming to Phoenixville Next Month

Art collectors, enthusiasts and novices will have two full days in May to meet some of the best artists in their Phoenixville studios. Studio 3 is part of the Chester County Studio Tour which will be held on May 19th and 20th . Studio 3 consist of sculptor Tom Ransom, painter Michael Hill, painter Lee Pohlsander, a jeweler Maryann Worrell. Studio 3 is located at 84 Washington Ave Phoenixville PA. The Chester County Studio Tour is free and open to the public on Saturday May 19, from 10:00am until 6:00pm and Sunday, May 20, from 11:00am until 5:00pm.

Some other great studios on the Tour are Teresa Haag at Studio 2. The famous Phoenixville artist will be hosting painter Lisa Muller and encaustic painter Sandra Engle. Teresa’s studio is located at 26 Gay Street. Studio 7 is hosted by painter Gretchen McGinnis. Participants of Studio 7 include painter Lisa Ford, Painter Maryanne Buschini, painter Daphne Longo-Okcuoglu, and ceramist Bonnie Ann Burnett. Studio 7 is located at 115 Bobtail Dr …

An Evening of Hope

Come out this Saturday evening to An Evening of Hope, a benefit to raise funds for Manor of Hope. Manor of Hope, a long-term therapeutic community for young men battling the disease of addiction in our surrounding communities, sets itself apart from traditional drug rehabilitation programs because its long-term curriculum provides individuals with the opportunity to re-wire their minds, rejuvenate their bodies and refresh their spirits. The event, which will be held from 6-10pm at Franklin Commons, will feature appetizers and dinner followed by a silent auction, music and dancing. Complimentary beer and wine served throughout the evening and attire for the event is Smart Casual.

For more information or for tickets, visit friendsofthemanor.org/an-evening-of-hope.

Registration Open for 2nd Annual Girls Basketball Camp

2018 marks the second year for the Phoenixville Girls Basketball Camps. Head Coach AJ Thompson, the girls basketball staff, and current members of the PAHS girls basketball team will work with campers to develop solid fundamental basketball skills, good sportsmanship, and most importantly have fun. The campers will participate in skill competitions, 3 vs. 3 or 5 vs. 5 games, guest speakers, & skill stations. Camp will be conducted to ensure your camper is learning and having fun in a safe structured atmosphere.

The camp offers two sessions. The first session, for students entering grades 3-6 and is for learning and having fun. The afternoon session is for students entering grades 7-9 and is geared towards players looking for a serious 2hr/day workout with high school staff and players.

For more information and to register, visit http://www.oasyssports.com/PhoenixvilleSummer/content/athletic-camps/athletics_girls-basketball-camp.