Skip to main content

Wolfgang Books Presents 'An Afternoon with Mark SaFranko'

As part of its Writers at Bridge and Main Reading Series, Wolfgang Books will be presenting 'An Afternoon with Mark SaFranko' on Saturday, November 13th.
An Afternoon with Mark SaFranko
Author of Hating Olivia
Saturday, November 13th @ 3 pm
Presented By Wolfgang Books & Hosted By Steel City Coffeehouse

Well known in England and France, the U.S. publication of Hating Olivia should raise Mark SaFranko's profile considerably. In the tradition of Bukowski, Henry Miller and Fante, SaFranko has written a powerhouse of a novel bursting with obsession, pain and darkness. Up to this point, SaFranko has been considered an underground writer in his homeland, but that's about to change. Here's a little about the book:

Max Zajack's life is cheap rooms, dead-end jobs, and suicidal fantasies until he meets the alluring and mysterious Olivia Aphrodite, and everything goes to hell. hating olivia

Max is a struggling musician and wannabe writer. His life is in a rut until one night, while playing a gig at a local club, he gazes out into the crowd and sees Olivia. Before long, they are sharing a bed and host of dark vices that begin to consume them. Their love turns toxic, sending them spiraling downward toward the inevitable. Violently romantic, viscerally honest, Hating Olivia is the story of two loners whose obsessive love brings them to the edge of destruction.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

La Crêperie Café Bis Opens

Yesterday, Phoenixville's newest cafe opened. La Crêperie Café Bis, located at the corner of Bridge and Gay Streets at the base of the Gay St. Bridge, opened its doors at 11am. As you can probably guess by its name, La Crêperie features both sweet and savory crêpes which, owner Marietou Fanny says, are made with only fresh ingredients. Fanny also owns a restaurant in Center City in Philadelphia called La Crêperie Café, which has been open for nine years.

La Crêperie is open seven days a week. Hours are Monday-Friday from 11am-10pm, Saturday 11am-11pm and Sunday from 10am-7pm.

Best of luck to Marietou and her staff!


Source: The Phoenix

Several Local Businesses Closing Up Shop

Over the next couple of months, three local businesses will be closing their doors.

On Saturday, February 16th, Polka Dots will be closing their store at 246 Bridge Street. The shop, a women's clothing boutique, opened nearly two and a half years ago but has recently found business slow.

---
Originally, (owner Susan) Randels said that the store was doing well, but that the momentum could not keep up.

"The things that sold in Paoli didn't sell in Phoenixville," she said, adding that some customers thought that the store was too expensive or the sizing did not go high enough (size 12 being the highest size sold). "We tried everything."

Randels also said that parking was an issue for many of her customers who could either not find spaces or did not feel safe parking behind the store.
---

Polka Dots remains open until the 16th, with hours on Saturday from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Sunday from 12 p.m. to 4 p.m. The phone number is 610-935-5914. Clothing and shoes are bei…

'A Taste of Phoenixville' scheduled for January 17th

On Thursday, January 17, 2008, the sixth annual 'A Taste of Phoenixville' will be taking place at Robert Ryan's Columbia Station. The event, which will be held from 6:30-9pm, features "edible delights from the likes of Robert Ryan's Columbia Station; Thai L'Elephant Browns Cow Ice Cream Parlor; The Columbia Hotel; Bridgeside Deli & Grille; Foresta's Country Meat Market; Molly Maguires; Ramondo’s Cheese!; Iron Hill Brewery; Aquilante's; Majolica; Twin Bays; Eliza’s Bakery; and The Sly Fox Brewhouse & Eatery."

In addition to the food, live music will be performed by local band Rhapsody and there will be a silent auction. All proceeds go to help the Good Samaritan Shelter of Phoenixville. Last year's event raised ~ $30k!

For tickets and additional information, please call 610-933-9305.

Source: The Phoenix